Fifa World Cup 2022 Teams

FIFA World Cup 2022 Argentina Team Plan, Match & Live Tv Channel

Qatar World Cup 2022 Argentina Team

This is a list of Argentina’s World Cup performances. With two World Cup victories in 1978 and 1986, Argentina is one of the most accomplished national football teams in the world. Three times, in 1930, 1990, and 2014, Argentina finished second. The team appeared in all but four of the World Cups, placing third in terms of appearances only after Brazil and Germany.

2022 FIFA World Cup Argentina

Additionally, Argentina has shared the most Copa América victories with Uruguay. Additionally, Argentina won the gold medal at the 2004, and 2008 Olympic football tournaments as well as the Confederations Cup. Argentina previously took home two silver medals from the 1928 and 1996 competitions. Argentina has achieved the U-20 World Cup six times in various international competitions. Argentina hasn’t yet won any FIFA international competitions other than the U-17 World Cup.

Uruguay in 1930-Argentina played the hosts and reigning Olympic winners Uruguay in the final match of the first FIFA World Cup. Even though Uruguay scored first, the game was tied at halftime with Argentina leading 2-1. However, the hosts went on to win 4-2. One of Argentina’s goal scorers, Guillermo Stábile, surpassed all other goal scorers in the competition with eight goals.

The Netherlands in 1978-Argentina sponsored the 1978 World Cup and made it to the championship game. The Netherlands had previously competed in the 1974 West German final and had fallen to the hosts. Diego Maradona was already well-known in his own country at the age of 17 but was not selected for the team because César Luis Menotti believed he had the maturity to manage the strain of this important competition.

Instead, Mario Kempes, the first Argentinian to earn the Golden Ball and the competition’s leading scorer with six goals, filled the playmaker position. Johann Cruyff, a renowned player for the Netherlands, was absent from the 1978 World Cup squads because of the fallout from an abduction attempt that took place in 1977. This knowledge wasn’t revealed to him until 30 years later. The tightly contested game was affected by a hostile environment, and after Argentina won in extra time, the Dutch players refused to go to the award ceremony.

West Germany, 1986-Argentina won the Cup for the second time, eight years after their triumph at home. After scoring five goals and setting up Jorge Burruchaga for the game-winning 3-2 goal in the 84th minute of the championship match, Diego Maradona was chosen as the tournament’s best player. A crowd of 114,600 spectators, a record, watched the game.

West Germany in 1990-In a rematch of the 1986 match, Argentina played with West Germany in 1990. In the World Cup final, Pedro Monzón was the first player to have ever received a red card; however, teammate Gustavo Dezotti soon followed. In favor of Germany, a penalty kick decided the game.

Germany at 2014-The most “frequent” final matchup occurred in 2014 when Argentina reached the finals for the fifth time and faced the German squad three times. Despite numerous opportunities for both teams, regular time ended scorelessly. Mario Götze, a substitute striker for Germany, scored the game-winning goal in the second period of extra time.

Chief coaches-Throughout the history of the Argentine team, various coaches had educated it in both offensive and defensive football methods. Best teams coach César Menotti, who promotes possession and well-looked play, and Carlos Bilardo, who prioritizes results and tactical order, represent the two main “football schools.” These head coaches effectively split the Argentine fan base. [4] Other coaches, like Marcelo Bielsa, have their own approaches to the game. In addition, this list displays World Cup and qualifying stage records that do not include friendly.

Contrary To Conferences

FIFA separates into six different conferences, each grouped by region, to handle regional eligibility and other organizational matters. Argentina competes in the South American CONMEBOL conference. It frequently encounters teams from outside its continent, most lately from Africa and Asia, due to World Cup regulations that state that two times of the same confederation cannot play within the same group in the first round, with the exception of UEFA. A team from Oceania (OFC) has never faced an Argentine national team.

The ‘Albiceleste’ has played more first-world-cup teams than any other team, doing so 17 times, 7 of which were the inaugural World Cup games. This list displays records as opposed to those choices, which include the 1930 edition’s all-debutants. Curiously, Argentina’s first game was against France, who had previously played.

Back to top button