Fifa World Cup 2022 Teams

2022 FIFA World Cup USA Times, Schedule, Groups & Live Tv Channel

FIFA World Cup USA

The senior national teams of FIFA member countries compete in the FIFA World Cup, an international men’s football competition, every four years. The 2022 edition is slated to be the 22nd edition of the competition. From November 20 to December 18, 2022, Qatar is the planned location for it. This will be the second Globe Cup staged entirely in Asia just after the 2002 competition in South Korea and Japan.

It will also be the inaugural World Cup ever held in the Arab world. The competition will also feature the final 32 teams before the competition in the United States, Mexico, as well as Canada in 2026, expanding to 48 teams.

2022 FIFA World Cup First Time Hosted In Nov To Dec

This World Cup will be the first not to be hosted in May, June, or July as well as to take place in the northern winter; it will be played in a shorter timeframe of roughly 29 days due to the extreme summer heat in Qatar. The tournament will take place from late November to mid-December. At Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, the opening game of the tournament will be played between Qatar and Ecuador. The final is scheduled for December 18, 2022, which also happens to be Qatar National Day. France is the current World Cup champion.

Concerns over the legitimacy of Qatar hosting the World Cup in 2022 were first raised in May 2011 following allegations of corruption involving high FIFA executives. Regarding the process by which Qatar was selected to host the event, allegations of bribery have been made. Qatar was exonerated of all violations following an internal FIFA inquiry and report, however, head investigator Michael J. Garcia later claimed that the document had “many materially incomplete as well as erroneous assertions.” Swiss federal prosecutors launched an investigation into bribery and money laundering in connection with 2018 as well as 2022 World Cup bids on May 27, 2015. Sepp Blatter, the former president of FIFA, said on August 6 that Qatar had engaged in “black ops,” implying that the bid group had cheated to secure the hosting rights.

The procedure of foreign workers engaged in World Cup preparation has also drawn harsh criticism for Qatar. Amnesty International has cited “forced labor” and subpar working conditions, and numerous migrant workers have claimed they had to pay significant “recruitment fees” in order to find employment. According to a report by The Guardian newspaper, many employees are allegedly denied water and food, have their identity documents removed from them, and are not compensated on time or at all, thereby turning some of them into slaves. By the time the tournament is in place, up to 4,000 workers could have passed away from poor safety practices and other causes, according to The Guardian.

Hosting Choice

The Qatari government implemented major labor reforms between 2015 and 2021 to enhance working conditions, along with a minimum salary for all employees and the abolition of the kafala system. However, Amnesty International claims that there has been no improvement in the living as well as working conditions of foreign employees in recent years.

National organizations had until February 2nd, 2009 to express their interest in hosting the 2018 FIFA World Cup or the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Eleven applications were initially submitted for the World Championships, however, Mexico later dropped from the competition, and FIFA rejected Indonesia’s candidacy in February 2010 because the Indonesian Football Federation failed to provide a letter of Indonesian contract of guarantee to endorse the bid. Until Qatar was given the right to host the 2022 World Cup, Indonesian authorities had not disqualified a proposal for the event.[Reference needed] All non-UEFA countries progressively dropped their bids for 2018, ensuring that a UEFA country will host the competition and disqualifying UEFA countries from bidding for 2022. [Reference needed]

 FIFA World Cup Hosted For Five Country Submitted

In the end, five countries submitted bids to host the FIFA World Cup in 2022. the United States, Australia, Japan, Qatar, and South Korea. On December 2, 2010, the 22 members of the FIFA Executive Committee met in Zürich to cast votes for the two tournament hosts. Due to allegations of vote-rigging, two FIFA executive members of the committee were suspended before the vote. Media pundits criticized the choice to host the World Cup in 2022 in Qatar, which was regarded as having “increased operating risk.”Numerous people have criticized it for being linked to the FIFA corruption allegations.

Back to top button